How old are you?

 
Since I came from the streets my age and birthday are not exact but they think I am around 11 months old right now and my birthday is 6/18/2012
 

Where did you name come from?

 
My name? Initially mommy wanted to call me Sheba or Athena. My human sister said “You know kitties that have long tails are supposed to be a lot of Mischief.” So they started calling me Mischief and it stuck!
 

How did you come into your parents lives?

 
Mommy had just put down her baby boy of 6 years. She went to get his ashes and asked daddy if they could stop into the shelter “just to look”. Both mommy and daddy saw me and fell in love. Mommy has always wanted an all white kitty with blue eyes so she swooped me up before anyone else had the chance,
 

Did they know you were deaf in the beginning or did they figure that out?

 
Mommy had read that kitties that were all white with blue eyes were prone to being born deaf. She did a little experiment when she brought me home. I was sleeping on the couch and she dropped my litter box in the hall way on the floor. She noticed I did not jump or move. She then ran the vacuum right next to where I was sleeping and I still did not wake up. From there she determined I was deaf.
 

What changes if any did they make to accommodate your deafness?

 
It has been a real learning experience for everyone. Mommy still talks to me as though I can hear and I have learned to feel vibrations. I have also learned cue and hand signals. The only thing really different is that my family has learned they have to be careful not to sneak up on me. Not being able to hear I scare easily.
 

What advice do you have for people who are hesitate to take in a cat that is deaf?

 
We are kitties just like other kitties. We need a family and we need love. It can be a challenge but it is not impossible. You may have to make some changes but not anything major. We still eat, play and do everything a normal kitty does.
 

Anything else you would like to share with the reader about you?

 
I am not only special because I am deaf I am also a registered service pet! My mommy has me registered as an ESA (Emotional Service Animal). I have learned how to walk on a harness and leash and go lots of places with her. I have also learned hand signals. I know how to sit, come and fetch.
Please adopt kitties and doggies. Right now there are so many that are in need of homes. (Oh and follow me on Facebook MOL)
 

Author’s Note: Many thanks to Mischief for taking the time to be interviewed. There will be an auction on the Peace, Love & Whiskers facebook page to benefit Missy’s Friends.

To skip to other “Opt to Adopt” Articles link the below link.  The image was made by the wonderful Miss Ann of Pawsitively Pets.

opttoadopt