Breakaway Cat Collars

 

One of my cats—Dodger—has a vertical leap of 6 feet, which puts her at eye level to the birds in the bird feeder. So two years ago I decided to get her a collar with bells to alert the birds, and give them time to escape. It has worked better than I imagined. Last year she wore 7 bells, this year she is down to 3, she has done so well. None of my other 4 cats wear collars, nor are they prone to chase or attack birds.

 

Everything was going well with Dodger’s bell collar. If she lost it, I had spares; eventually, we found most of the collars in our backyard, but a few were found in the house. No collars or birds were actually lost.

 breakaway cat collar 2

Last week Dodger misplaced her collar again, so I pulled out a spare and added 3 bells, and thought nothing of it. However, two days later, I was horrified at where I found it, knowing she would have died, had she NOT had a breakaway collar.

 

I never go in my husband’s office. He’s a slob, and I have enough to clean without adding his office to my list. But I happened to glance in that day, after retrieving the mail. I had to do a double take. 3 of his file cabinet doors were pulled out, and hanging from the 2nd drawer, about 3 feet off the ground, on the file folder support bars, was Dodgers’ collar, dangling there. She’s a small cat, so she would have been hanging from even the 2nd drawer from the bottom. I tried to figure out the scenario of what drew her in that room, and then up the drawers, and what happened for the collar to breakaway and free her. Then I was thankful I chose that kind of collar.

I am not a fan at all of cat collars, but I am a fan of nature, birds and life, so the collar was her consequences for even trying to snare a bird.

 breakaway cat collar 1

These collars are surprisingly affordable, $2.50-6, and bells are sold separately, but in multi-packs of 3, 6 or a dozen. Breakaway cat collars come in a variety of colors and patterns. We go with standard black, since Dodger is grey, and they get lost, so I don’t get fancy on them. But you can!!! Several companies create very colorful styles/patterns, while others will customize a collar for you, online. The boxy pet stores also carry some selection of colors and patterns, as well as plain black.

 

If your cat finds it a necessity to wear a collar, you can treat it like a fashion accessory and go all out!!!

 breakaway cat collar

But remember, the breakaway collars are designed to come apart, before your cat gets hung and dies. Regular collars don’t do this, though if you and your cat are lucky, it could slip off its’ neck, but why take the chance?


Author’s Note: This pet product review is the sole work of Miss Sharon McDermitt, she was not compensated in anyway for her review.  You can read more of her reviews here, also her cat Neptune is the subject of a book that was just written, you can purchase the book here or you can follow Neptune & Mr. Moo & the rest of the furry family on facebook here.