Introduce yourself:

Well for us…there are TWO of us! This interview was directed at me (Cody from Cat Chat) but I felt bad because my Sheltie brother has a blog as well so we are BOTH going to answer these questions.

Name:

Cody from Cat Chat and Dakota from Dakota’s Den

Age:

we both are six years old.

How you came into your parents lives:

CODY: I’ll answer first. I was adopted. I was adopted on July 28th, 2007 two weeks after mom’s “soul kitty” (Bobo) crossed the bridge at age 18. Mom was devastated. Bobo had been her only pet for those entire 18 years. Mom went to an adoption event that PetCo had right after Bobo died, she saw me but didn’t adopt me! She wasn’t ready. Then 2 weeks later she saw me and my litter mates at the PetCo adoption event. Mom picked my sister up first (because she looked like Bobo) but she didn’t like my Mom. Then Mom picked up my brother, same thing. Then Mom said “what about that gray one? Let me hold him’’ That was IT!! JACKPOT! I attached myself to my Mom’s lap and arms and didn’t let go. Then I attached myself to her heart and then she adopted me!

DAKOTA: for me it was different. Mom had always wanted a Sheltie, since she was a little girl. Bobo was an “only” pet and NEVER would have accepted another cat or dog. After Bobo crossed the bridge, Dad started a “Sheltie Search” We weren’t blogging at the time and didn’t know about pet transport or anything and there were no Sheltie rescues near our home. Dad and Mom bought me at 8 months old from a responsible breeder who was selling me because she couldn’t “show” me. Mom’s Sheltie dream was answered!

Why do you blog?

CODY: Mom lost her job in 2007 due to downsizing and was depressed. She saw the movie Julie & Julia and when she learned about blogging she said “I can do that!!” But she needed an assistant and she had me do quite a bit of the blog work. We started Cat Chat in October of 2009.

DAKOTA: I started my blog when people saw me on Cody’s blog and said that I needed my own blog too! I started Dakota’s Den in April of 2011.

What is your favorite post?

CODY: wow! I have A LOT of “favorites!” But it would have to be: a super old post from June 11, 2010. I hardly had any followers then, and this one deserves to be seen! http://opcatchat.blogspot.com/2010/06/cody-gets-his-say-his-rebuttal-to.html

My least favorite?

My first post on October 25, 2009. I had no clue what I was doing http://opcatchat.blogspot.com/2009/10/welcome-to-cat-chat.html

DAKOTA: my favorite of mine would be a recent one http://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2013/03/02/what-do-gentlemen-do/ And my least favorite would be: http://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2012/08/31/friday-find-ooo-la-la-cardinal-pet-cares-viva-la-dog-spa-dog-facial-wipes-you-can-win/ I LOVED the product but Hated how Dad humiliated me!

What is your favorite thing about blogging?

CODY AND DAKOTA I think we can both answer this one. Our favorite thing about blogging is all of the other dogs, cats, turtles, ferrets, rabbits, pigs, etc etc and their pawrents that we have met along the way. We have both made some fantastic furiends through blogging and that has been the biggest reward! Many of them will be furiends for life!!

What to you dislike about blogging?

Sometimes there is just too much pressure! Mom has us cutting back our schedule a bit because it is hard to post nearly every day of the week and keep up with the over 100 blogs that we follow. But we love it and hope that you like us too, we hope to keep blogging as long as we are able to.

Sneak peek on future posts?

CODY: ohhhh our excitement just passed! We had major give-aways in April that just ended.

DAKOTE: wait! I have one! I will be representing a special dog food brand at BlogPaws, stay soon to see who it is!

CODY: I will continue to be a Catvocate for World’s Best Cat Litter and I also am a member of the Purina Cat blogger panel.

What blogs do you read that you would like to share?

Oh wow!!!! TONS of them!!! You know what? Since we follow well over 100-200 blogs we really don’t want to list anyone, not because we don’t think they are great but because inevitably we are going to leave out some of our favorites and we do NOT want to hurt anyone’s feelings. If you see us commenting around the blog-o-sphere (and you WILL) rest assured that we like the blogs we are commenting on. We just follow WAY too many to single anyone out. If we are following you and leaving you a comment, then…we LOVE YOU!

What are you thoughts on spaying/neutering?

SPAYING/NEUTERING is a must!!! It is good for the dog, good for the cat and impawtant to help the unwanted pet population from continuing to grow!

Anything else you want to add about you?

Well, Cody and I are bummed that we won’t be at BlogPaws (it is too far from Michigan) BUT MOM WILL BE THERE!!! Mom is the head of the “Newbies” group for the BlogPaws conference and she is sooooooo excited to see everyone this May! It will be Mom’s second trip to BlogPaws, so she is excited about re-connecting with furiends and meeting new ones!

THANK YOU SO MUCH for taking the time to interview us today! It was fun!!! Kitty Kisses from Cody from Cat Chat 

And Barks and licks and love from Dakota of Dakota’s Den


Author’s Note: Photos were used with permission. Many many thanks to Cody & Dakota and their mom for taking time to answer the questions. You can visit them at Cat Chat and Dakota’s Den.

This article is a part of the Pets that Blog theme, for more interviews on blogging pets, click the image below. Many thanks to Miss Ann from Pawsitively Pets for the image. 

pets that blog 200x200