Meet Jelly

How old are you Miss Jelly?

Sure I am not vain about me age, I am the three years young!

How did you get the name Jelly?

When I was a baby i didnt have a name it was number 67 or 68 it was long time ago so i dont remembers which one anyways da Lady named me Isabella, Bella for short dat means beautiful by da way then went to Belly and den da Jelly belly……Jelly just stuck and mez thinks it suits me dont you?

When I was a baby, I didn’t have a name, it was number 67 or 68. It was a long time ago so I don’t remember which one it was, anyway the Lady named me Isabella, Bell for short that means beautiful by the way. Then it went to Belly and then to Jelly Belly. Jelly just struck and I think it suits me, don’t you? 

I heard you had a dance studio before you did your advice column, why did it shut down and why did you decided to do an advice column?

Me dream of being a dance teacher went south when me realized my talents were in helping out people. My dance studio neber really made it off the ground…lets just say the cost to rent a space in dis state is like da ridiculous and they no would take me down payment in cat nip….. So me thought hey I love to answer questions and be helpful, I am da Ladys lil helper around da house anyways so I thought why not have a column…we had a family meeting and everyone agreed great idea so here I am advice Jelly I lubs doing it!
helping people and making dem smile is wonderful for me its a win win you know. They get answers and a few laughs along da way and I get that warm feeling of bringing some joy into peoples lives. Im not saying I am not serious when I answer sometimes dey have hard questions for da Jelly and me haz to think hard to give a good answer I try my best and peoples seem to like my sigment on my page.

My dreams of being a dance teacher went south when I realized my talents were in helping out people. My dance studio never really made it off the ground. Let’s just say the cost to rent a space in this state is ridiculous and they would not take my down payment in cat nip. So I thought “hey I love to answer questions and be helpful, I am the Lady’s lil helper around the house anyway, why not have a column?” We had a family meeting and everyone agreed it was a great idea so here I am and I love doing it!Helping people and making them smile is wonderful for me, it’s win-win you know. They get answers and a few laughs along the way and I get that warm feeling of bringing some joy into people’s lives. I’m not saying I am not serious when I answer, sometimes they have hard questions for me and I have to think hard to give a good answer and I try my best and people seem to like my segment on my page. 

Does Dozer give any input too?

Sure he does when the questions are hard or they are in his area of expertise mez let him help and I always share da credit wif him after all he is my
big bruffer. He is goofy but pretty darn smart!

What about Miss Brooklyn?

Sure she helps she is our resident behavioral issues expert because she had da issues when she came here. So she knows alot more about those things then me and Doze. I gives her da credit too when she helps wif the column.

May I ask where Dozer and Brooklyn got their names from?

Of course you can well Brooklyn is named that because she came from the streets of Brooklyn someone lost her we think…well we like too think that cause we hate to think someone toss her out in da street. Her nickname is Boo it suits her. Dozers real name is Bulldozer because all his life he has bulldozed thru it even when he was a lil whisker he would have to jump right in and see whats going on and be center of the action!

Since you and Dozer are siblings, do you have any fights are do you get along?

Yup we are for reals bruffer and sisfur never ever ever in our whole lives have we ever had a fights with each other. Not once maybe when we get older and a lil cranky in the pants but as of now no we have not. We lub eachother very much and we are like two peas in a pod!

What did you think with Miss Brooklyn came into the family?

Well at first it was like phewww she smelled funny like da hospital and she was sick. And because of that we were like wtc (what the cat) who is dis and are you staying.We were not happy and neither was she. Alot of hissing going on in the beginning. But over time we have grown to lub her she is like da annoying lil sisfur we never had MOL

Well, at first it was like “phewww” she smelled funny, like the hospitial and she was sick. And because of that we were like wtc (what the cat) who is this and are you staying? We were not happy and neither was she. There was a lot of hissing going on in the beginning. But over time we have grown to love her, she is like the annoying lil  sisfur we never had. MOL

Do you have any advice to give for people thinking about taking in a rescued cat from a hoarding situation like you and your brother were?

Well this is a tough question cause we not all the same. Some will come from dat type of situation like Dozer and not be scarred in anyway emotionally or physically and be great healthy cats to have. Some will be like me and have health issues mine are with my ears and eyes. Upper repetory issues are not uncommon in hoarding situations given the conditions we come from. And of course emotional issues vary as well..only advice me has is each situation
is different and kindness and patience must always be first and the willingness to give us our space as we adapt to our new homes. Just like any other cat we are adoptable and we make great pets.

Well this is a tough question because we are not all the same. Some will come from that type of situation like Dozer and not be scarred in anyway, emotionally or physical and be great healthy cats to have. Some will be like me and have health issues, mine were with my ears and eyes. Upper respiratory  issues are not uncommon in hoarding situations given the conditions we came from. And of course emotional issues vary as well.. only advice I have is that each situation is different. Kindness and patience must always be first and the willingness to give us our space as we adapt to our new homes. Just like any other cat we are adoptable and make great pets. 

Do you (or Miss Brooklyn) have advice about preparing a house for a three legged cat?

Yes well mez will let Boo answer dis question…..I can only speak about rear leg amputation but making it easy to get up on things is important. make them stairs up to da bed and so on so they are able to get up easily. And do not let things be around that they could get tangled up in. Some may need higher feeding stations. Self heating beds are great too for joint aches, they make the kind that do not plug in I have one and its great we all love it. As they age as with any other pet she may need joint care. We havent had to do much here for me to be honest Tripods are really not that different from other cats save they can not do some things….but they can do most things. Tripods Rock!
Oh and remember a recent amputee is learning all over again how to do things depending on their age it may take longer time to get use to being without a limb no different than a human learning again. The hard part is watching them try to do something and they cant ALLOW them the time to learn how to do it all over again like jumping on their own…it might take time for them to get the hang of it and it might be hard to watch you are going to want to help but its important they learn on their own…. believe me I still gets frustrated sometimes but I am adapting well like with anything else it takes practice to be good at something. Did I say Tripods rock? *smiles*

Any advice for dealing with traumatized cats?

Boy you know how to ask the tough questions 🙂 Well mez hate repeating myself but patience is key
Mez will use Boo as example. She came recently amputated with a major upper resp. infection. She had alot of issues losing the leg was the main one. However she also lived on da tough streets of Brooklyn people probably threw things at her or worst yet hit her wif stuff to get her to go away…she didnt like hands over her at all in the beginning and still sometimes she gets a bit nervous and she knows da Lady would never hurt her. She would flip out for no reason…like turning on a light switch. Took time to figure out what traumatizes her and caused her to go into a frenzy. It was hard for all of us to watch she would be so unstable still learning to move on three legs and panick and flop over then freak out. If you can just imagine losing a limb and getting very ill and then within
a week you are in a new place with a human and two cats you dont even know…Holy Cow thats alot to deal with. So along with patience empathy is key NOT pity. As hard as it is to watch them freak out all you can do is find the trigger and try to work with them to desensitize them. Hearing car noises dont set her off anymore. But the
Lady had to work very hard wif her and reassured her hey Boo you ok now this is your home too she did things like heres a treat or soothing words or petting helps reassuring that we are safe is key. Will Boo ever sit in a window who knows not if she can see cars she wont at least not now. But will she peak out the window yes now she will from a distance look out. Thats a milestone for her only achieved within the last week.
Do not force anything it takes time for people to get over trauma and it does for animals as well. I can not say it enough there is no instant fix..have the patience to work with the cat find the trigger and make them see they are safe…over time that stress will disepate totally hopefully if not there are herbal remedies that help as well in soothing their stress. Learn your animals body language Boo will start moving her head a bit ears as
well right before she has an issue…now if our Lady sees it start she can react in a positive manner quickly and help her see she is safe. Above all else do not be afraid to ask others to help you. Our vet is wonderful and helped us alot with all her issues.

Anything else you would like to add or share with the readers?

Yes we would like to say we try to show the so called unadoptable pets are very much so adoptable and special needs does not mean we are less than..we are just different and we hope we show that on our page. And we are grateful for this interview and for all our pals on Facebook who have not only been supportive of us and pawesome pals to have, but have been helpful to all of us when we intergrated Boo into our family. Oh and Ask Jelly, the advice kitty will be back on either the first or last Sunday of every month in 2013.

Author’s Note: Miss Jelly had her advice column featured on the blog a few weeks ago and I couldn’t let her go without doing a full-fledged interview. So many thanks to her, Dozer, Miss Brooklyn and their Lady for letting me interview them. Photos were used with permission.  You can find them on facebook here