Author’s Note:
I saw this mention about a pet blogger challenge and blog hop and decided what a great way to meet more pet bloggers! So without further ado.. here are my answers to the challenge questions.
 

Pet Blogger Challenge Questions

bluepaws

1. When did you begin your blog?

My blog started in 2010.

2. What was your original purpose for starting a blog?

My blog originally started out to showcase my adventures and my photography.

3. Is your current purpose the same?

No.

If not, what’s different?

I’m focusing on animals now and left my creative writing and photography to the side.

If so, how do you feel you’ve met your goals? N/A

looney1

4. How often do you post?

3 times a week- Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.

5. Do you blog on a schedule or as the spirit moves you?

Schedule! I am a bad procrastinator so I have a schedule. Otherwise my blogging would suffer the same fate as my creative writing…and let’s not even talk about that.

If you publish on a schedule, why? How strict are you about your publishing deadlines? What do you do for inspiration when it feels like you’ve covered every topic?

Must have a schedule otherwise I wouldn’t post! Very strict. I post at 5 minutes after midnight. I haven’t covered too many topics  yet and I find that reading other pet blogs gets me a chance to get guest posts, explore more information and links to other pets’ stories that should be told.

If you don’t publish on a schedule, why? How do you think your decision affects your audience? How do you know when a topic is “post-worthy?”

n/a

6. How much time do you spend writing your blog per week? How much time visiting other blogs? 

Honestly I don’t know, it just depends, I select interviewees at random, I just started with topics this year so we’ll see how long that lasts.

It’s a multi-step process which contains the following:

  • selecting interviewees
  • contacting them via facebook to ask if they are interested
  • getting a response (if no response move onto next selection)
  • getting interview questions typed up and either private messaged/emailed
  • waiting for a response with answers
  • getting everything formatted with pictures
  • sending a preview via email/pm for approval

If I want to include more information about whatever the topic is then I do some research, copy, paste, site the website, save, check everything to make sure it flows and that could take close to 2 hours. And if the interviewee responds with changes, I make changes and resubmit.

My article on Fatboy Babushka and the article on Miss Smoky from last year took a while because of the research and corrections.

As far as viewing other blogs… that depends.. I have quite a few blogs a follow on wordpress and then others I get the emails for and check those out, like and comment. I try to comment on every blog I read because I know how excited I get to see comments so I figure it’s always nice to leave a few words. So I would say  a few hours a day to look at other blogs.

Share your  tips for staying on top of it all.Tips?

I have the posting schedule programmed into my calendar on my phone so I get a 15 minute reminder to make sure it posts okay. I signed up for networked blogs so that way it posts automatically on my facebook page, my personal facebook and tweeter. Also I’ve set up wordpress to post on my yahoo profile.  I have a handmade calendar divided out for Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays with a check mark system for when I sent the email and a second check for when the post is finished and ready and I cross it out when it’s been posted. It also helps me keep track of who is next, who I’ve asked to interview and who I need to follow up with. I learned from not having my articles together than organization is key.

7. How do you measure the success of a post and of your blog in general (comments, shares, traffic)?

I love wordpress for having a stats bar so I can see how well the post did. I consider a good post getting at least 30 unique views. I’ve had a few posts hit and surpass the 100 mark and I was so happy. The post I did about kittens needing a home had 1700+ views, I was ecstatic  of course the main issue was that they found homes.

kittylove1

Do you look strictly at the numbers, or do you have a way of assessing the quality of those interactions?

I look at the numbers and the comments. I love comments, that means someone is actually taking the time to respond.

8. If you could ask the pet blogging community for help with one issue you’re having with your blog, what would it be?

How keep spammers from posting comments. I get so many in my spam folder, but I want to add the captcha box to keep them from even getting that far. Any advice?

9. What goals do you have for your blog in 2013?

To get reader participation. I was thinking about taking part in a bigger blog hop, posting a contest with stories, getting more guest blogs and getting some sponsorship!  (please sponsor me.. or else you get sad kitty eyes.. like those below)

puss1

Who else is a part of this? Check out the link below.. and enjoy! =^..^=

PBC